Pippin – 50th Anniversary Concert

Theatre Royal Drury Lane, London

There’s magic to do in the 50th anniversary concert production of PIPPINat the iconicTheatre Royal Drury Lane.The showwill star Tony Award winnerAlex Newell(Shucked), Jac Yarrow(Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat, Newsies), Olivier Award winnerPatricia Hodge(Downton Abbey, Miranda), Lucie Jones (Waitress, Les Misérables, Wicked)Cedric Neal(Guys & Dolls, Back to the future)Zizi Strallen, (Mary Poppins, Strictly Ballroom, Follies)and featuring the London Musical Theatre Orchestra.


With an infectiously unforgettable score from four-time Grammy winner, three-time Oscar winner and musical theatre giant, Stephen Schwartz, including the classic songs Corner of the Sky and Magic to Do, Pippin is a soul-searching exploration of one man’s journey to find himself, his place and purpose in life.

Heir to the Frankish throne, the young prince Pippin is in search of the secret to true happiness and fulfilment. He seeks it in the glories of the battlefield, the temptations of the flesh and the intrigues of political power (after disposing of his father, King Charlemagne the Great). In the end, though, Pippin finds that happiness lies not in extraordinary endeavours, but rather in the unextraordinary moments that happen every day.

Stephen Schwartzsaid: “Although there have been some excellent recent productions of Pippin in the UK, the show never gets to be heard with a full live orchestra and choir. This concert, with a cast led by the astonishing Alex Newell and produced under the always first-rate auspices of Katy Lipson’s Aria Entertainment and Carter Dixon McGill, promises to be a once-in-a-blue-moon event. I for one cannot wait to experience it!”



Alex Newell – Lead Player


Jac Yarrow – Pippin


Patricia Hodge – Berthe


Lucie Jones – Catherine


Cedric Neal – Charlemagne


Zizi Strallen – Frastrada


Ryan Heenan – Theo


Idriss Cargo – Lewis


Amonik Melaco – Player


Jak Allen-Anderson – Player


Sally Frith – Player


Gleanne Purcell-Brown – Player


Accompanied by



The 50 Students from the ArtsEd Choir



Stephen Schwartz – Music and Lyrics

Roger O. Hirson – Book
Jonathan O’Boyle – Director
Chris Ma – Musical Director
Joanna Goodwin – Choreographer
Polly Sullivan – Set and Costume Design
Jamie Platt – Lighting Design
Adam Fisher – Sound Design
Simon Nathan – Orchestration Expansion
Larry Hochman – Original Orchestration

Jane Deitch – Casting

Ylan Assefy-Waterdrinker – Production Assistant


Produced by Katy Lipson for Aria Entertainment & Carter Dixon McGill Productions